Chamber hands out awards

Submitted photos
Award winners during the Greater Chambersburg Chamber of Commerce annual awards breakfast are, from left, Jesse Whitney, Blake Truman, Patti Nitterhouse, Karen Johnston, Christy Unger and Kira Coy.

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. — The Greater Chambersburg Chamber of Commerce recently honored 11 of its members for outstanding achievements in 2018.

Winners of the property improvement awards are, from left, Ted Zimmerman, Justin Poe, Janet Pollard, Leo Schoenhofen and Jon Baker.

More than 220 people attended the Annual Awards Breakfast.

“We are proud to honor our business and community leaders for their exceptional contributions this past year,” said Stephen Christian, president of the Chamber. “We were blown away by the nearly $26 million of investment in the Chambersburg area and honored to award our members for their contributions that have served to improve the quality of life in our community.”

Karen Johnston, executive director of the Healthy Communities Partnership of Greater Franklin County, accepted the international ATHENA Leadership Award. The award honors an individual who exemplifies professional, community and personal leadership as well as someone who actively assists women in reaching their full leadership potential and/or personal and professional advancement.

Over the past nine years, Johnston has led HCP’s growth and expansion. She has prepared many successful grant applications and most recently led the development of a federally funded Drug-Free Communities Support Program.

Also presented during the ceremony were the following awards:

• Property improvement up to $150,000: To Penn National Golf Course Community, which redesigned its clubhouse and added an addition called the Black Oak Bar.

• Property improvement up to $150,000, honorable mention: To Klenzing’s Garden Center for the renovation of 2922 Molly Pitcher Highway.

• Property improvement $150,000 to $500,000: To SunnyHill Properties for renovations to 405 Wayne Ave., which is the home of The Block Fitness Studio.

• Property improvement $1 million to $5 million: To Grant Street Loft for the transformation of the former Jennings car dealership into a commercial kitchen and modern event center at 227 Grant St.

• Property improvement over $5 million: To Menno Haven for construction of the Rehabilitation Center that is part of its five-year strategic plan known as Project Genesis.

• Property improvement historic preservation: To Franklin County Visitors Bureau for repurposing an 1865 bank building into the 11/30 Visitors Center at 15 S. Main St.

• Environmental sustainability: To David H. Martin Excavating Inc. for continued pursuit of environmental protection for water and soil conservation.

• Innovator of the Year: Jesse Whitney of Summit Health, now part of WellSpan Health. Whitney, of the Information Services Department at Summit Health, brought a life-saving technology to Franklin County that connects caregivers in a hospital to emergency air medical transport.

• Nonprofit of the Year: Healthy Communities Partnership of Greater Franklin County for programs and services that have improved the health and wellness of the communities it serves.

• Young Professional of the Year: Blake Truman, who began his career with VerStandig Media 15 years ago, moved into management and soon became vice president and general manager.

• Spirit of the Community: Patti Nitterhouse, who serves on several boards, including the South Mountain Partnership and the Franklin County Visitors Bureau. She was the driving force for the TK Nitterhouse & Mary Steel nursing scholarship and helps facilitate and host community Healthy Eating Adventures.